Pangea Day, one year on...

• Main TV studio set

On May 10, 2008 millions of people around the world enjoyed a unique experience of global karma, gathering to watch the same films at the same time in a special four hour program inspired by Jehane Noujaim's TED Prize wish.  The event was called Pangea Day, named after the single supercontinent that existed 250 million years (all the world connected). 

If you agree that the world is in dire need of border-transcending empathy and that film has a remarkable ability to take you inside the head of "the other", you will get why so many found this idea powerful. 1500 members of the TED community organized Pangea Day events in dozens of countries to join the program and it was available on TV in more than 150 countries. 

• Kigali, Rwanda

 

• London, UK

This was typical of the feedback we received from the event:

Barbara A. from Mexico
This has been one of the most inspiring and beautiful events I have ever experienced. Let's never forget what we all felt and experienced today.

Karima Saad from United Kingdom
I am speechless. Those 4 hours felt as if i was part of the whole world as one community, rather than countries divided by borders.


Carolyn from United States
Thank you for doing this. I laughed, I cried, I was enlightened, I was moved and touched and inspired. 


Marina from Brazil
If I had to express my experience in words, I would not be able to. These were the best movies I have seen as an expression of art. And all the movies combined, just changed my way of thinking....


Lidia from Argentina
I feel too moved to speak and happy that so many people feel that really all of us are ONE.


RicardoSilva from Portugal
I've been using the internet since the 90's, but this is truly the first time that I feel that here, for brief hours, was a global community talking.


Jacqui from Jamaica

It was truly a spectacular event , I sat riveted in front of the television.


Danna from United States

Pangea Day was an incredibly inspiring event!! Best four hours spent in front of the television EVER!


Rhea from India

I am 23 years old and I just finished watching the Pangea Day broadcast. I couldn't go to bed without writing to you and telling you how beautiful, thought provoking it was.

If you missed it, the films

 are still up on the Pangea Day website.  They were compiled from submissions from a wide range of film-makers all over the world in response to the brief "if you had the world's attention for a moment, what story would you tell."  Many of them are just a few minutes long.  They're really worth watching.  Three of my favorites: Elevator MusicStille Post and The Ball.

OR, better yet, gather some family members or friends, sit down and watch the one-hour highlights reel of the whole program... or even the 4-hour full program.  It certainly has its flaws, but if you're in the right frame of mind with the right people, it's truly inspiring stuff.

There are no immediate plans for a second Pangea Day -- the cost and logistics are formidable -- but never say never. A huge thank you to all who helped make this amazing TED Prize wish come true.


3 responses
As a filmmaker and social entrepreneur who believes in the power of film to dissolve borders and catalyze action, I was extremely moved and inspired by Pangea Day. It must be a yearly event.

What can we do to make it happen? How much money would need to be raised?

If we can't emulate the entire Pangea day - isn't there a way we could scale it back somewhat and still maintain the spirit of the vision?

What if organizations were able to sponsor films that aligned with their mission / promoted their cause?

All the best,

Ben Henretig
www.songlinegroup.com

goooooooooooooood
I have found so many interesting thing in your blog and I really love that Keep up the good work